Dubnyk's gaffe - made #14 of Elliotte Friedman's "31 Thought's"
14. After two controversial net-off-the-moorings calls in Toronto (March 13 vs. Chicago and March 15 against Philadelphia) the NHL sent out a memo asking, among other things, officials to be more diligent about replacing nets that are jarred loose. That note scorched Minnesota’s Devan Dubnyk in Monday’s 1-0 loss to Nashville. In the third period, seeing his own net dislodged, he went to the bench for an extra attacker, knowing that the rulebook dictates the Predators cannot score in such a situation.
Is Dubnyk brilliant or not for leaving his net during bizarre sequence?
The rest of the Wild were fooled by this move and took a too-many-men penalty. But it could have been worse, as the net was put back in position during play by one of the officials. In that case, the Predators could have scored.
Dubnyk admitted later to reporters that he saw the Rangers’ Alexander Georgievdo the same thing during a 3-2 loss in Edmonton and thought it a smart play. Here’s the problem: the date of that game? March 11 — just before the two controversial plays and ensuing memo. In case anyone forgot, what happened Monday will be a reminder.