Jump to content

Jagr nominated for Masterton Trophy

Guest hf101

Recommended Posts

by Sarah Baicker

Jaromir Jagr has been nominated as the Flyers’ candidate for the 2011-12 Bill Masterton Trophy by the Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

The award is presented annually to the player who best exemplifies perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to ice hockey. The winner will be decided at the 2012 NHL Awards, June 20 in Las Vegas.

Jagr, 40, has enjoyed a revitalized NHL career since signing as a free agent with the Flyers over the summer. A quick glance through his press clippings more than illustrates his dedication to the sport – and one need only spend a moment or two around him after practice or a game to get a sense of his love for the game and spirit of sportsmanship. If he's not the favorite, Jagr stands a very good chance of becoming at least a finalist for the award.

The Flyers’ nominee from last year, Ian Laperriere, won the award. He was only the third Flyer ever to do so. Bobby Clarke (1971-71) and Tim Kerr (1988-89) are the team’s only previous winners.

Named for a Minnesota North Stars player who died in January 1968 after sustaining an injury during a game, the Bill Masterton Trophy has been awarded since the 1968-69 season.

The Flyers could have back to back trophy winners.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...