Jump to content

Is There Still a Third-Man-In Rule?


Guest NoVaFlyerFan
 Share

Recommended Posts

Dubinsky-

<object width="640" height="383" id="embed" classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000"><param name="movie" value="http://nhl.cdn.neulion.net/u/videocenter/embed.swf" /><param name="quality" value="high" /><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" /><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always" /><param name="flashVars" value="catid=60&id=172551&server=http://video.nhl.com/videocenter/&pageurl=http://video.nhl.com/videocenter/&nlwa=http://app2.neulion.com/videocenter/nhl/" /><embed name="embed" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/go/getflashplayer" src="http://nhl.cdn.neulion.net/u/videocenter/embed.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="640" height="383" quality="high" allowFullScreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" flashVars="catid=60&id=172551&server=http://video.nhl.com/videocenter/&pageurl=http://video.nhl.com/videocenter/&nlwa=http://app2.neulion.com/videocenter/nhl/"></embed></object>

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@peter puck

Adams did get a game misconduct, I'll assume it was for being the third man in, but the boxscore doesn't state why.

He got an instigator penalty. They don't call it "third man in" anymore.

Correction: Apparently they do still call it "third man in":

http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26336

Edited by JackStraw
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I never see it called anymore, but it seems like Adams attacking Hartnell at the same time that Crosby is trying to instigate a fight with Hartnell is as blatant as it gets. If it does not apply in that scenario, when does it apply?

well, generally when there is an actual fight going on that the third man jumps into. no fighting major for crosby there = no third man in.

the trade off there is that adams was given the instigator, because the refs decided there was no "fight" prior to him getting involved.

either way, it's a misconduct. worked out better for the flyers, because there is no minor penalty accompanying a third man in call.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...