NHL's proposal would hurt big-market teams

Irishjim

595256.png

Well, the NHL owners have countered.

Their latest proposal eases up on the machete-like pay cuts the league had initially asked the players to take. In fact, there doesn’t appear to be an across-the-board rollback of players’ salaries, and nor should there be.

However, if I’m an NHL general manager of a large-market, free-spending team, then I’d better start pinching a few pennies along the way. The revised proposal calls for a reduction in salary cap from $70.2 million to $58 million, or an estimated 17.5 percent cutback. If that number holds when a new CBA is eventually reached, according to capgeek.com, 16 teams (more than half the league) would currently be spending over the limit including the Flyers. For those less-than-thrifty GMs who have taken an “I’ll cross the bridge approach” when it’s time, be prepared to pay a hefty toll before even crossing that bridge.

For the Flyers and GM Paul Holmgren, only one hand would be tied. Holmgren wouldn’t have to absorb Chris Pronger’s nearly $5 million cap hit with the help of the long-term injury reserve exception, and if Andrej Meszaros was unfit to play when the season started, that’s another $4 million to shave off. From that, the Flyers could start the season under the $58 million threshold.

However, once Meszaros was deemed healthy, Holmgren would be forced to make a minor move or two. If amnesty is forced into play, then someone like Jody Shelley would become a likely candidate. Shelley saw action in only 30 games last season, and his impact as an enforcer was limited. Shelley could provide the Flyers with additional cap savings of $1.1 million.