Yet another reason to like Jags...

Guest JackStraw

Seems he doesn't like the shootout:

Yesterday, Jagr was quick to point out that he hasn't gone in on a shootout attempt "in 6 years" - though it appears that this is by choice.

"How do you know I am not good on the penalty kill?" Jagr asked. "I haven't played it in years. I started playing it before most of these guys were born. I'm not saying I'm in favor of it, but it's the same thing, I don't like backchecking. It's part of the game."

http://www.philly.com/philly/sports/flyers/20111221_Giroux_appears_set_to_play_tonight_in_Dallas.html?page=1&c=y

And still another...

http://www.philly.com/philly/sports/flyers/20111221_Jagr__Voracek_pay_tribute_to_Havel.html

They are just two letters, a "V" and "H," together on the back of his helmet. They sit inconspicuously across from the NHL shield that is stuck on every dome in the league.

The letters, worn by Flyers forwards Jaromir Jagr and Jakub Voracek, are the initials of Vaclav Havel, the former Czech Republic president who died Sunday. And they aren't going anywhere anytime soon.

Jagr, still his country's biggest pop-culture icon, is not just paying homage to the life of a courageous defender of freedom as his civic duty. He was a close friend of Havel.

"Our country is small, and hockey is pretty popular," Jagr said with deference. "Most of the time, people from government and sportsmen actually know each other a lot.

"I went to the White House three times - and all of them were with him. When he flew to the U.S. and went to the White House, I was with him then, too."

The jersey numbers of both Jagr and Voracek are a tribute to their homeland. Jagr's No. 68, his only number worn since 1990, is a tip of the cap to the year 1968, a fierce period of liberalization in his homeland - known as the "Prague Spring" - when citizens gained important rights from the crippling communist reign.