Briere interview last night on Comcast

Guest pensuck

Lisa Hillary interviewed him on Comcast phila. When she asked how he was being affected by trade rumors he said I know I'll be here til the end of the year. It doesnt sound like he's lifting his nmc. I cant imagine if they asked him to waive it to get a good young d man to help the club he'd say no. The more he keeps scoring the hotter the trade rumors will get.

I doubt he's going anywhere. NMC, likes the area, likes the team, has young kids.

I've been guilty of being a Briere basher several times but there is no denying the guys got talent and is absolutely clutch come playoff time. If an offer comes in for a young solid dman (just going to type that to avoid defenseman vs defenceman lol) you have to do what's best for the team and that's trade him. It would certainly be tricky persuading him to waive that NMC though.

I cant imagine if they asked him to waive it to get a good young d man to help the club he'd say no.

There's been a lot of talk about his family situation. He is a single father of 2 school age boys. The speculation is that he won't waive during the season and have to pull the boys out of school.

It isn't unheard of for a player to not waive their NMC/NTC. in 07-08, Mats Sundin refused to waive his NTC and finished the season with Toronto. He went to Vancouver as an UFA the next season and Toronto got nothing.

The risk Danny Briere is taking by not waiving his NMC is that he may be bought out at the end of the year. I'm not sure what the amount of money is that he would lose by being bought out, but I admire Danny for putting his kids FIRST and the money second.

Edited by AlaskaFlyerFan
  • Like 3

The risk Danny Briere is taking by not waiving his NMC is that he may be bought out at the end of the year. I'm not sure what the amount of money is that he would lose by being bought out, but I admire Danny for putting his kids FIRST and the money second.