Completely New to Hockey

Daerialadrian

As the topic says i am completely new to Hockey. My new interest in Hockey came from this past Winter Olympics. I decided to watch the USA hockey team and i actually loved to watch. I am 19 years old and i am from USA Houston Texas, Hockey has not been discussed by my family or friends my whole life so it is completely new to me. I was hoping that on this forum i could get some basic information about Hockey as far as rules, NHL teams or any information that Hockey players/watchers deem important to know. 

• Like 1

@Daerialadrian

Welcome Adrian

Welcome to Hockey Forums!  :)

You've probably joined us at one of the most exciting times in the sport of hockey.  Next week is the trade deadline as GM's focus on bettering their teams for the stretch into the playoffs and the playoffs themselves.  

Depending on what cable set up for tv you should be able to watch a few games a week at least as NBC will carry more and more games this time of year.  The Dallas Stars probably have decent coverage in your area.    The easiest way to learn is to watch games and read a site like http://prohockeytalk.nbcsports.com/

and of course there is

Houston used to have an AHL team owned by the Minnesota Wild but they moved this summer to Iowa.  Maybe next year another team will play closer to your home.  As I would suggest seeing hockey in person.  

And of course join us here often as we have quite a few knowledgeable hockey fans discussing the nhl, our favorite teams and more.

So have you chosen a favorite team yet?

@Daerialadrian

Welcome to the best game on earth. Glad the Olympics got you interested and hope you adopt a team that's fun for you to watch. The Stars are close as already said and gave some talented players on their roster. The great thing about modern media though is you can follow any team from anywhere at any time.

Welcome and dig in!

Good morning starshine, the Earth says hello!