Jump to content
You are a guest user Click to join the site
News Ticker
  • News Around the NHL

Ducks Hockey Forum Coyotes Hockey Forum Bruins Hockey Forum Sabres Hockey Forum Flames Hockey Forum Hurricanes Hockey Forum Blackhawks Hockey Forum Avalanche Hockey Forum Blue Jackets Hockey Forum Stars Hockey Forum Red Wings Jackets Hockey Forum Oilers Hockey Forum Panthers Hockey Forum Kings Hockey Forum Wild Hockey Forum Canadiens Hockey Forum Predators Hockey Forum Devils Hockey Forum Islanders Hockey Forum Rangers Hockey Forum Senators Hockey Forum Flyers Hockey Forum Penguins Hockey Forum Sharks Hockey Forum Blues Hockey Forum Lightning Hockey Forum Maple Leafs Hockey Forum Canucks Hockey Forum Golden Knights Hockey Forum Capitals Hockey Forum Jets Hockey Forum

hf101

Hickey hits and gets hit

Recommended Posts

Huge hit by Thomas Hickey on Jonathan Drouin.  Drouin has the puck so there isn't a late call  here but Hickey does make significant contact to the head.  I doubt this will be a suspension, but then again who knows anymore.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Shouldn't be, Drouin has to keep his head up there. Even the Lightning coach said that everyone on their bench thought it was clean.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think Drouin's head does come down a bit. It was a hard nasty hit for sure, but I don't think it warrants a suspension, but you never know what will happen.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have to say though that Boyle may be looking at a suspension over Hickey. This should have been called an interference penalty and the winning OT goal shouldn't have counted.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wait a sec here ... did Hickey dive on that hit to embellish??  here's another look.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I looked at the hit several times and it really doesn't look like Boyle hits Hickey in the head squarely at all. He may have glanced against it or may not have at all. I think Hickey put on somewhat of a show after watching it several times.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, hf101 said:

Wait a sec here ... did Hickey dive on that hit to embellish??  here's another look.

 

 

I have no problem with the hit on Drouin.   But that right there is embellishment.  That's embarrassing. Good call. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Holtbeast said:

I looked at the hit several times and it really doesn't look like Boyle hits Hickey in the head squarely at all. He may have glanced against it or may not have at all. I think Hickey put on somewhat of a show after watching it several times.

Yeah. It looked shoulder to shoulder to me. I think the head gets grazed after the fact, but that's 90% Hollywood. 

 

As for interference, I don't think that's a good call, either, but I think there's at least an argument for it. The puck is gone but I don't think long enough that it warrants interference.  To me, that's just finishing a check.   It's close enough that I think that is justifiably an interpretation call.  

 

If they called it, I'd think it was weak, but I'd be okay with it.  I'm okay with no call. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, ruxpin said:

I'm okay with no call.

MAJOR DIVE. I agree with TFG. Karma is a bitch. Hickey totally sold that as a head shot when it was not. If anything, I would fine Hickey for the embellishment on the play...that would be a real eye opener for these Roussel type dives.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, flyerrod said:

MAJOR DIVE. I agree with TFG. Karma is a bitch. Hickey totally sold that as a head shot when it was not. If anything, I would fine Hickey for the embellishment on the play...that would be a real eye opener for these Roussel type dives.

Just because I'm not sure:  I meant I was okay with the no interference call.  I didn't mean to come across like I was talking about being okay with a no diving call. 

 

Actually, at that point in overtime, I'm okay with no call at all there, but yeah, the flopping was embarrassing. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good non call on the Boyle hit.  And I agree as I thought it was a bit of embellishment as well.  Hickey even had the wits to try to hold Boyle's stick at the same time.   No way this is interference(heck half of what the Isles are doing should be considered interference, its awful), Boyle was already committed even though he had to change directions as Hickey stopped up.(I look for a rule change on this in the future, if you have to change directions, the finishing the hit defense will go out the window).  

 

Drouin hit was a great hockey hit and exactly what we don't want to lose in the game.  It great to have speed and talent, but you still need to be aware that there are people that don't want you to get to the net.

 

 

Edited by nossagog

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hickey hit on Drouin:

 

Great.

 

Hockey.

 

Hit.

 

Period.

 

Anything else?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Most Liked Posts in This Topic

    • 2
      Post
      I looked at the hit several times and it really doesn't look like Boyle hits Hickey in the head squarely at all. He may have glanced against it or may not have at all. I think Hickey put on somewhat of a show after watching it several times.
    • 1
      Post
      Mr. Hickey...meet Ms. Karma....she can be a REAL &!#@#.
    • 1
      Post
      Yeah. It looked shoulder to shoulder to me. I think the head gets grazed after the fact, but that's 90% Hollywood.    As for interference, I don't think that's a good call, either, but I think there's at least an argument for it. The puck is gone but I don't think long enough that it warrants interference.  To me, that's just finishing a check.   It's close enough that I think that is justifiably an interpretation call.     If they called it, I'd think it was weak, but I'd be

Game Room 1

Please enter your display name

×
×
  • Create New...