Thoughts on game 1 (defeated Toronto 4-0

yave1964

Watched last nights game. Twice. Soooooo glad hockey is back, here are some thoughts.

Dylan Larkin got by far the loudest applause of anyone last night during the intro, not even close. The Wings faithful are ready to turn a page and move forward and the reaction to the kid proves it.

Larkin then went out and had the best debut any 19 year old could ask for in front of his hometown team. Just an amazing performance, a goal and an assist and a burst of speed down the wing, he never played wing until last year in the calder finals for Grand Rapids, always center but he seems natural.

Abdelkader and Larkin, playing alongside birthday boy Zetterberg were a sight to behold, they accounted for all four of the games goals including a hat trick for Abby. Zetterberg is aging like fine wine, three assists and not looking his age.

Mike Green, I studied him most of the second half of the game because it was basically over, his legs never stop moving side to side, not just straight ahead, as if he is having a hard time standing or looking for an opening. He had two passes from behind his own net to center ice that bounced off the receivers sticks because they were too powerful and unexpected. I had no idea he was so strong. Gonna fit in nicely.

the second and third lines looked a bit out of sync, but unlike Babs in years past Blashill if his time in Grand Rapids is any indication does not tinker with lines much from game to game. He likes for players to get comfortable with each other and as time goes on, Tatar and specifically Nyquist who was non existent last night will get used to Richards.

Howard with a shutout. Other than one little burst where the Leafs were swarming late in the second he could have mailed it in. As easy of a shutout as you will get.

Harrington looked awful for the Leafs. Twice Phaneuf lollygagged back into his own zone as the puck wizzed behind him and going so slow negated icing.