Cap Questions

CoachX

A boring morning. No significant news in Flyer land. Since RJ suggested I have no real hockey experience and therefore not smart enough to offer hockey opinions,  I will pose a question

In the flat cap era, and if the Flyers cannot (hypothetical) move any of the players who have expering contracts,  would they consider just letting them walk to free up space?

As I read it, and again, im a hockey idiot, Laughton, Raffl, Gus, and Patrick are all UFA/RFA at seasons end. If they are all let go, that should create roughly 7.7 mil. 

Im sure its not conventional, and likely not going to happen, but they could start moving up the so called prospects they have to fill holes, let AV coach them up, then follow up the next year by not resigning Giroux.

2 hours ago, CoachX said:

would they consider just letting them walk to free up space?

They could. But that would be bad asset management from the Flyers stand point.

They will be able to move these guys for something of value...it won't be a lot but they can be moved.

Patrick will have a qualifying offer since he is a RFA. But he too could be part of a package for something of value in return in the offseason.

If they are all let go, that should create roughly 7.7 mil.

That sounds about right...Laughton is coming off a contract that paid him 2.3 mill and well i would be ok bringing him back maybe but for no more than like a deal for about 2.5 mill per season.

Just can't spend more than that on a bottom 6 forward. Same goes for Raffl who i like but he can't get much more than what he is making. He was making about 1.6 mill.

So you could add Twarynski (23 years old) and Bunnaman (22 years old) to the bottom 6 for what it would cost to employ just Raffl alone.

Now yes there would be a huge experience drop off but those guys have experience and well if they can carve out a spot down in the bottom 6 next season then well they are no good to us now anyways and time to find help elsewhere.