Boogaard's Family Sues NHL

Guest canoli

wow I didn't see this coming...but I shouldn't be surprised I guess. This is the Age of Lawsuits after all.

I'm no lawyer but it seems to me it'll be pretty hard to prove that somebody besides Derek should've been responsible for Derek, even if he was in the grips of addiction to pain-killers.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/05/13/sports/hockey/derek-boogaards-family-sues-nhl-for-wrongful-death.html?nl=todaysheadlines&emc=edit_th_20130513&_r=0

wow I didn't see this coming...but I shouldn't be surprised I guess. This is the Age of Lawsuits after all.

I'm no lawyer but it seems to me it'll be pretty hard to prove that somebody besides Derek should've been responsible for Derek, even if he was in the grips of addiction to pain-killers.

http://www.nytimes.c...h_20130513&_r=0

This "could" be the beginning of an NFL-like suit against the NHL - both of which would be nothing more than a money grab. 100% behind the leagues on this one.

I find it interesting that anytime the leagues (NHL and NFL) take steps to curb head injuries (and possible side affects like pain killer addictions) they get killed by most of the fans and most of the media and most of the players for (lack of a better word) "pussifying" the game while at the same time they are being sued by ex-players (many not that far removed from playing) for not doing enough to prevent head trauma. I'm guessing that a lot of these former players at one point refused to come out of a game due to head trauma or even hid concussion symptons from their coaching staff and team meadical staff.

Hines Ward admitted to hiding concussion symptoms in order to play.

Ryan Clark refused to wear a newer, more protective helmet after a concussion because it was not as comfortable.

James Harrison...no secret what he things of the NFL's rules.