Flyers Sign Oscar Eklind to ELC

Greetings:

I'm sure many of your saw this and I mentioned it in another thread:

https://phillyhockeynow.com/2024/04/08/philadelphia-flyers-sign-oscar-eklind-unknown-swedish-prospect/

I am not a pro scout. And for all I know, this kid (he is 25, which isn't so young) may be a diamond in the rough.  But...doesn't this sound like Throwback Thursday?  Wouldn't we rather read about signing a speedy winger rather than a "hulking" 6'4" possible bottom six player?  Is this a cheap substitute for Nic?  Is our cupboard in LVH that barren?  

Again, he may bring things to the table that aren't clear to an outsider.  But the optics aren't great for a team that needs speed and skill.

One man's thought!

Howie

12 minutes ago, Howie58 said:

Greetings:

I'm sure many of your saw this and I mentioned it in another thread:

https://phillyhockeynow.com/2024/04/08/philadelphia-flyers-sign-oscar-eklind-unknown-swedish-prospect/

I am not a pro scout. And for all I know, this kid (he is 25, which isn't so young) may be a diamond in the rough.  But...doesn't this sound like Throwback Thursday?  Wouldn't we rather read about signing a speedy winger rather than a "hulking" 6'4" possible bottom six player?  Is this a cheap substitute for Nic?  Is our cupboard in LVH that barren?  

Again, he may bring things to the table that aren't clear to an outsider.  But the optics aren't great for a team that needs speed and skill.

One man's thought!

Howie

He's 6' 4" and apparently soft. He was scoring at a good pace, then like the Flyers he fizzled out when the games started to matter. Should fit right in. 

Quotes from Swedish fans translated...

"Of course he has scored a lot of goals, but in the rest of the game I don't think he delivers at all anymore."

"Not delivered in goals or recently, Has scored 2 goals in the last 20? Surprised if he gets an NHL contract."