I hate my hockey coach and don't know what to do

lovehockey4life

So, this past Saturday I had my first hockey games of the season. I've spent these past few months doing a lot of researching and planning on new tactics to this season. I've been playing as a forward in this hockey league for the past two years and now I have a new coach and he's making me play defense.

I honestly hate the defense position because he and my teammates keep telling me to stay back behind the blue lines, because I was always the person to go speed off the the other side of the rink to score goals. Now it's pretty much impossible to score goals when he keeps telling me to stay by my home goal.

The league also keep offensive leaders standings on their website and I've been working really hard off season to bump my name up as a top leader for the season but I can't do that if my goals and points don't go up as much as a defenseman compared to a forward.

I honestly have to say I hate playing defense in general, I talked to my coach about it a few times but he wants to keep me on defense. I'm not enjoying the games anymore and I'm not looking forward to playing them if I'm going to play a position I really don't like.

By the way, this is at a recreational hockey that I've been playing at for two years.

Thanks

@lovehockey4life

Well its supposed to be about having fun. If you're not enjoying it you shouldn't be playing.

I don't know all the circumstances, but you make it sound  like stats are more important to you than anything. That isn't what its about either. Hockeys a team game where you should all be working together. Like I said, I don't know your situation but is it possible your coach is trying to teach you the other part of the game? The part without the puck, without the glory, but equally as important?

Agreed FC...

If it is a recreational league I am assuming this is lower level rec hockey and you are not playing AAA or Jr.